Lindsey Clarke, M.D., family medicine teaching faculty and associate program director at the Self Regional Healthcare Family Medicine Residency Program, received the South Carolina Area Health Education Consortium’s (SC AHEC) 2016 Halford Award. The award is presented annually to a Family Medicine residency-training program faculty member who shows outstanding leadership qualities in humane education.

Winners of the award posses a caring attitude and respect for patients, residents and students; value human dignity; and demonstrate a passion for teaching, working with others and participating in community service activities.

The Halford Award was established in 1995 to honor Dr. James G. Halford, a teacher and role model who made many contributions to family medicine. The award serves as a tribute to his ideals of caring, dignity and respect that he passed on to his students and colleagues, as well as his passion and joy for learning and working with others.

Dr. Clarke completed his undergraduate education at Davidson College, and went on to receive a medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina. He completed his residency at Carillion Health System in Roanoke Virginia and after nine years of rural health practice in South Carolina joined the full-time teaching faculty at the Montgomery Center for Family Medicine.

“I am honored to have received this recognition,” said Dr. Clarke. “It is such a privilege to be highly regarded in the medical community. I hope to continuously instill and encourage positive ideals in my residents and colleagues for many years to come.”


About Self Regional Healthcare:
Self Regional Healthcare is a not-for-profit, regional referral hospital that provides care to residents of Greenwood, Abbeville, Laurens, Saluda, McCormick, Edgefield and Newberry counties. Services include prevention and wellness, acute care and tertiary care services including cancer care, neurosurgery, heart and vascular surgery, NICU, orthopedics and genetics. Self Medical Group is its employed physician affiliate network of 22 practices and more than 90 physicians.